[RTC List] Please connect with me :)

William Van Hefner vantek at sonic.net
Wed May 28 18:50:11 PDT 2008


Unfortunately, it's not exactly a "mistake". There is at least one website
that has been around for a number of years that uses spyware-like software
to dig through a person's entire contact list and spam it with these phony
invitations to join their websites. In the past, they went by the name
plaxo.com. Since most mail admins started catching on to them (and
blocking their mail) they have switched to a number of new domain names.
Below are just some of the domains that they go by. As far as I am
concerned, there is NO legitimate e-mail coming from any of these domains,
and I block them ALL at the mail server level. They may pawn themselves
off as being legit websites, but their real goal is to gain the ability to
spam your entire address book, along with anyone that you have ever sent
an e-mail to on that particular computer.

plaxo.com
fanbox.com
fanboxnotes.com
fanboxmail.com
reunion.com
sms.ac

Since these companies often forge their headers, or make them appear to
come from the person whose address book they have harvested, you will need
to include some sort of rule that rejects or deletes all messages that
contain any of these domain names in the HEADERS of the message. It's
quite a bit of work, but this thing spreads much like a virus, so is well
worth the time to block if you are a mail administrator.





-- 
William Van Hefner
President

Vantek Communications, Inc.
e-mail: van at humboldtonline.com


On Wed, May 28, 2008 6:19 pm, G W Bell wrote:
>

> I hope this was a mistake.  Or maybe RTC is getting into the reunion
> business?!
>
> ________________________________
>
>> Date: Wed, 28 May 2008 10:48:49 -0700
>> From: libby at inkpeople.org
>> To: list at redwoodtech.org
>> Subject: [RTC List] Please connect with me :)
>>
>>
>> Hi,
>>
>>
>> I looked for you on Reunion.com, but you weren't there. Please connect
>> with me so we can keep in touch. —Libby
>>
>>
>> Do You Know Libby?
>> YES — Connect with Libby, and see who's searching for you.
>>
>>
>> Learn more:
>> http://www.reunion.com/libby4636b
>>
>>
>>
>> [http://affiliates.reunion.com/ads/images/reunionlogo174x65.gif]
>> Reunion.com - Life Changes. Keep in Touch.™
>> You have received this email because a Reunion.com Member sent an
>> invitation to this email address. For assistance, please refer to our
>> FAQ or Contact Us.
>> Our Address: 2118 Wilshire Blvd., Box 1008, Santa Monica, CA 90403-5784
>>
>
> _________________________________________________________________
> Make every e-mail and IM count. Join the i’m Initiative from Microsoft.
> http://im.live.com/Messenger/IM/Join/Default.aspx?source=EML_WL_ MakeCount
>  _______________________________________________
> List mailing list
> List at redwoodtech.org
> http://redwoodtech.org/mailman/listinfo/list_redwoodtech.org
>





More information about the List mailing list