[RTC List] Please connect with me :)

Pat Bitton pat_bitton at eurestopartners.com
Wed May 28 20:08:41 PDT 2008


FWIW, Plaxo is a legitimate business network and one that I make fairly
extensive use of, but I agree, this one is clearly a spammer.

Pat Bitton
Partner, Euresto Partners Inc
Sales & Marketing Strategies for Technology Startups
+1 707 268 8968/+1 408 464 0829 cell
www.eurestopartners.com


-----Original Message-----
From: list-bounces at redwoodtech.org [mailto:list-bounces at redwoodtech.org] On
Behalf Of William Van Hefner
Sent: Wednesday, May 28, 2008 6:50 PM
To: list at redwoodtech.org
Subject: Re: [RTC List] Please connect with me :)

Unfortunately, it's not exactly a "mistake". There is at least one website
that has been around for a number of years that uses spyware-like software
to dig through a person's entire contact list and spam it with these phony
invitations to join their websites. In the past, they went by the name
plaxo.com. Since most mail admins started catching on to them (and blocking
their mail) they have switched to a number of new domain names.
Below are just some of the domains that they go by. As far as I am
concerned, there is NO legitimate e-mail coming from any of these domains,
and I block them ALL at the mail server level. They may pawn themselves off
as being legit websites, but their real goal is to gain the ability to spam
your entire address book, along with anyone that you have ever sent an
e-mail to on that particular computer.

plaxo.com
fanbox.com
fanboxnotes.com
fanboxmail.com
reunion.com
sms.ac

Since these companies often forge their headers, or make them appear to come
from the person whose address book they have harvested, you will need to
include some sort of rule that rejects or deletes all messages that contain
any of these domain names in the HEADERS of the message. It's quite a bit of
work, but this thing spreads much like a virus, so is well worth the time to
block if you are a mail administrator.





--
William Van Hefner
President

Vantek Communications, Inc.
e-mail: van at humboldtonline.com


On Wed, May 28, 2008 6:19 pm, G W Bell wrote:
>

> I hope this was a mistake.  Or maybe RTC is getting into the reunion 
> business?!
>
> ________________________________
>
>> Date: Wed, 28 May 2008 10:48:49 -0700
>> From: libby at inkpeople.org
>> To: list at redwoodtech.org
>> Subject: [RTC List] Please connect with me :)
>>
>>
>> Hi,
>>
>>
>> I looked for you on Reunion.com, but you weren't there. Please 
>> connect with me so we can keep in touch. -Libby
>>
>>
>> Do You Know Libby?
>> YES - Connect with Libby, and see who's searching for you.
>>
>>
>> Learn more:
>> http://www.reunion.com/libby4636b
>>
>>
>>
>> [http://affiliates.reunion.com/ads/images/reunionlogo174x65.gif]
>> Reunion.com - Life Changes. Keep in Touch.T You have received this 
>> email because a Reunion.com Member sent an invitation to this email 
>> address. For assistance, please refer to our FAQ or Contact Us.
>> Our Address: 2118 Wilshire Blvd., Box 1008, Santa Monica, CA 
>> 90403-5784
>>
>
> _________________________________________________________________
> Make every e-mail and IM count. Join the i'm Initiative from Microsoft.
> http://im.live.com/Messenger/IM/Join/Default.aspx?source=EML_WL_ 
> MakeCount  _______________________________________________
> List mailing list
> List at redwoodtech.org
> http://redwoodtech.org/mailman/listinfo/list_redwoodtech.org
>



_______________________________________________
List mailing list
List at redwoodtech.org
http://redwoodtech.org/mailman/listinfo/list_redwoodtech.org




More information about the List mailing list