[RTC List] Please connect with me :)
John Abela
jabela at gmail.com
Thu May 29 09:02:34 PDT 2008
Umm, William....
Plaxo is FAR from a spamming service.
Perhaps you should go read the Plaxo privacy rights policy, and you
will see that Plaxo NEVER sends an email without END-USER involvement.
Never.
Just because it was created by the guy that created napster and was
recently acquired by Comcast does not make them a spam service.
By blocking their emails you are doing an injustice to anybody that
you might be providing services for that utilizes their network -
which, by the way, is the largest network of it's kind, bar none!
Be a better server admin and research before you blanket block!
John B. Abela
On Wed, May 28, 2008 at 6:50 PM, William Van Hefner <vantek at sonic.net> wrote:
> Unfortunately, it's not exactly a "mistake". There is at least one website
> that has been around for a number of years that uses spyware-like software
> to dig through a person's entire contact list and spam it with these phony
> invitations to join their websites. In the past, they went by the name
> plaxo.com. Since most mail admins started catching on to them (and
> blocking their mail) they have switched to a number of new domain names.
> Below are just some of the domains that they go by. As far as I am
> concerned, there is NO legitimate e-mail coming from any of these domains,
> and I block them ALL at the mail server level. They may pawn themselves
> off as being legit websites, but their real goal is to gain the ability to
> spam your entire address book, along with anyone that you have ever sent
> an e-mail to on that particular computer.
>
> plaxo.com
> fanbox.com
> fanboxnotes.com
> fanboxmail.com
> reunion.com
> sms.ac
>
> Since these companies often forge their headers, or make them appear to
> come from the person whose address book they have harvested, you will need
> to include some sort of rule that rejects or deletes all messages that
> contain any of these domain names in the HEADERS of the message. It's
> quite a bit of work, but this thing spreads much like a virus, so is well
> worth the time to block if you are a mail administrator.
>
>
>
>
>
> --
> William Van Hefner
> President
>
> Vantek Communications, Inc.
> e-mail: van at humboldtonline.com
>
>
> On Wed, May 28, 2008 6:19 pm, G W Bell wrote:
>>
>
>> I hope this was a mistake. Or maybe RTC is getting into the reunion
>> business?!
>>
>> ________________________________
>>
>>> Date: Wed, 28 May 2008 10:48:49 -0700
>>> From: libby at inkpeople.org
>>> To: list at redwoodtech.org
>>> Subject: [RTC List] Please connect with me :)
>>>
>>>
>>> Hi,
>>>
>>>
>>> I looked for you on Reunion.com, but you weren't there. Please connect
>>> with me so we can keep in touch. —Libby
>>>
>>>
>>> Do You Know Libby?
>>> YES — Connect with Libby, and see who's searching for you.
>>>
>>>
>>> Learn more:
>>> http://www.reunion.com/libby4636b
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>> [http://affiliates.reunion.com/ads/images/reunionlogo174x65.gif]
>>> Reunion.com - Life Changes. Keep in Touch.™
>>> You have received this email because a Reunion.com Member sent an
>>> invitation to this email address. For assistance, please refer to our
>>> FAQ or Contact Us.
>>> Our Address: 2118 Wilshire Blvd., Box 1008, Santa Monica, CA 90403-5784
>>>
>>
>> _________________________________________________________________
>> Make every e-mail and IM count. Join the i'm Initiative from Microsoft.
>> http://im.live.com/Messenger/IM/Join/Default.aspx?source=EML_WL_ MakeCount
>> _______________________________________________
>> List mailing list
>> List at redwoodtech.org
>> http://redwoodtech.org/mailman/listinfo/list_redwoodtech.org
>>
>
>
>
> _______________________________________________
> List mailing list
> List at redwoodtech.org
> http://redwoodtech.org/mailman/listinfo/list_redwoodtech.org
>
--
John B. Abela
~~ I really do hate linkedin.... second only to myspace, facebook and
google.... oh-wait... that was three... well, you get the point.
More information about the List
mailing list